Change is sometimes as good as a holiday…


In February (the last time I made an attempt at a post here) I mentioned that there were some changes ahead for me.  The main one was that I decided to move out of the city to a place called Bribie Island, known for its tranquility.  For a time it seemed to be a place where people would retire to, however that trend seems to be changing with more families leaving Brisbane and its big city problems for what sometimes feels like paradise.  I’ve been here about 6 weeks, and have pretty much settled in.  My best friend lives up here, so she was certainly happy that I had decided to come north to the beach.  She has been a HUGE support to me over the past couple of years, and it seems fitting that we should live in the same area.

6 weeks on from moving here, I am starting to feel better about the future, even though I have no idea what that is – unemployment at any age is difficult, and at my age (early 50’s) it seems to be an uphill battle .

So I’ll post this off.  Thanks to whoever reads this — I know I’m hot and cold when it comes to posting.  Maybe this one signals the re-birth of my blog, just as it seems that my life is undergoing one.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Change is sometimes as good as a holiday…

  1. Well, you happened to visit today just before I was planning to post. I do think change is good; it keeps us young and different stimulating learning experiences, and social ones help us to maintain a good mind. Our daughter C has a passion for disabled people. She also loves horses and photography. She would like to combine those things in a setting where she can work with disable people with therapy horses and do photography with it or on the side. She is 15 so has some time to work on it. She has some great works already and I am encouraging her to submit her work to some contests and see where it goes from there.

    Glad you are settling in to your new life and it sounds like the path is a good one for you.

  2. I know how you feel! Its hard being without work… its wonderful for the soul, but hard on the pocket book. Good luck with your training, what a wonderful new career that will be. I just gave up life in the busy oil and gas industry to work at my church serving God and reaching out to the community. Keep your chin up, many happy thoughts and prayers will be sent your way 🙂
    Kasey

    • Thanks for your kind thoughts, Kasey.
      It’s now 7 months without any success with work. I’m trying to stay positive, but that is getting harder by the day. The pocketbook is almost empty, so not so good times ahead. Great that you have taken a new path. Good luck with that.
      Kim

Leave a Reply (Email & name required)

